All I Want For Christmas

tree

Dear Santa,

I am not going to ask you for a pony or a sled…I am too old and accident prone for those kinds of things (they would probably result in a trip to the E.R.). What I want you to deliver this year is a companion. Since the last 24 years of my life show that I have no skill in picking a companion of my own I am pinning all my hopes on you.

I am not too picky at this point (getting close to settling for someone with a pulse, but not there yet). There are really just a few things that I am not willing to give up on.  Honesty, I need to be able to trust them. Smart enough to have a conversation, and I mean one that does not put me to sleep. An appreciation of sci-fi, British comedy, and computer gaming are not negotiable (they don’t have to like them, but need to be able to understand why I like them and not have a problem with it). Since I like to cook they need to be a willing victim for any new recipe that I decide to experiment with. Most importantly they need to like me for who I am and not who they think they can turn me into (PLEASE do not put a black hole of emotional need under my tree).

I have worked hard to create a life for myself that I am happy with. That life is not perfect, and neither am I. I am sure that you can find me someone who wants to share in the life that I have created for myself and wants me to share in the life that they have created.

Thanks,

JD

P.S.

If you can’t find anyone who fits the requirements or you bring me someone who is a train wreck, I will not hold it against you. You could not possibly do any worse than I have in the past.

dear santa

Let me know how you really feel!

